Computability and Complexity Symposium 2017

Computability and Complexity Symposium 2017

(in honour of Rod Downey's 60th birthday)

In 2017, Victoria University of Wellington will be hosting a Computability and Complexity Symposium. These areas have seen significant development in recent years. The purpose of this symposium is to bring together a wide cross-section of researchers in the area, from leading researchers to graduate students, to discuss these developments and future directions.

The symposium will take place between the 5th and 8th of January 2017 at the town of Raumati, a short drive from Wellington.

Registration is now open. Please register as soon as possible by emailing Adam Day or Noam Greenberg. We have made a block booking of accommodation. This will be allocated on a first-come, first-served basis to those that register. When registering please let us know if you would like us to arrange accommodation for you.

Following the Computability and Complexity Symposium, is the New Zealand Mathematical Research Institute Summer School in Napier.

If you have questions, please contact Adam or Noam.

Organising Committee

The organising committee is comprised of the following members: Peter Cholak (Notre Dame), Adam Day (Victoria University of Wellington), Michael Fellows (Bergen), Noam Greenberg (Victoria University of Wellington), Bakhadyr Khoussainov (University of Auckland) and Alexander Melnikov (Massey University).

Confirmed Paticipants

Among confirmed participants are: Carl Jockusch (UIUC), Ted Slaman (Berkeley), Eric Allender (Rutgers), Steffen Lempp (Madison), CT Chong (National University of Singapore), Joseph Miller (Madison), Denis Hirschfeldt (Chicago), Antonio Montalb√°n (Berkeley), Klaus Ambos-Spies (Heidelberg), Richard Shore (Cornell), Paul Schupp (UIUC), Keng Meng Ng (NTU), Guohua Wu (NTU), Johanna Franklin (Hofstra), Valentina Harizanov (GWU), Yu Liang (Nanjing), Andrey Morozov (Novosibirsk), Frank Stephan (NUS), Damir Dzhafarov (Connecticut), Russell Miller (CUNY), Doug Cenzer (Gainsville), Yang Yue (NUS), Kenshi Miyabe (Meiji University, Tokyo), Rutger Kuyper (Madison and VUW), Greg Igusa (Notre Dame and VUW), Alexandra Soskova (Sofia), Mariya Soskova (Sofia and Madison), Joe Mileti (Grinell College), Catherine McCartin (Massey), Cris Calude (Auckland), Andre Nies (Auckland), Yijia Chen (Fudan), George Barmpalias (VUW), Longyung Ding (Nankai), Eric Astor (UConn), Dan Turetsky (VUW), Andre Nies (Auckland), Gaven Martin (Massey), Peter Cholak (Notre Dame), Adam Day (VUW), Noam Greenberg (VUW), Ludovic Patey (Berkeley), Rob Goldblatt (VUW), Katherine Arthur (VUW), Serge Gaspers (UNSW), Jun Le Goh (Cornell), and Alexander Melnikov (Massey).

ASL and NSF support

The Association for Symbolic Logic is sponsoring this meeting. ASL student members may apply for travel grants from the ASL. Applications and recommendations should be received at least three months prior to the start of the meeting at the ASL Business Office: ASL, Box 742, Vassar College, 124 Raymond Avenue, Poughkeepsie, New York 12604, USA; Fax: 1-845-437-7830; email: Decisions will be communicated at least two months prior to the meeting.

The US National Science Foundation is supporting the meeting by a travel grant. US-based academics who are interested in NSF support should contact Peter Cholak, Adam or Noam by the 15th of October.


A festschrift volume was published in the Springer LNCS series, edited by A. Day, M. Fellows, N. Greenberg, B. Khoussainov, A. Melnikov and F. Rosamond.

Contact Us | Section Map | Disclaimer | RSS feed RSS FeedBack to top ^

Valid XHTML and CSS | Built on Foswiki

Page Updated: 11 Nov 2016 by greenberg. © Victoria University of Wellington, New Zealand, unless otherwise stated